Enabling comments in portfolio items

This support request was posted in Netelier by scottepond

Request ID #3402 Resolved
  • I’m looking for a way to edit the php to allow commenting on portfolio items. I’ve seen methods to do so on other themes. Is there a way to do it on the Netelier theme? (Note: I am a newbie when it comes to php).

Hello there,

Thanks for writing. Yes, there’s a simple way. You’ll need to call the comments function in your single-portfolio.php file:

comments_template( '', true );

You can check the file single.php in order to check where and how to include it 🙂

Best,
    Juan.

Thanks Juan. I’ll give that a try as soon as my flight lands. Cheers!

Thanks for writing back.

No problem 🙂

Best,
    Juan.

Juan: I tried updating the single-portfolio.php file like it indicates on the single.php file… all that happens is a line is drawn at the top of the portfolio. I tried it in a few locations in the file but it doesn’t seem to activate comments. Any recommendations?

Update: I was able to get it in the code to show up where I want it, but it only appears as a line, not as a the actual comments. Is there something else that I need to do to ensure it is expanded?

You can see the line below the image in the following link: http://scottpond.com/scotteponddesigns/portfolio/slingers-book-1/

Hello There,

Thanks for writing.

I forgot to mention that you’ll have to edit the way the portfolio custom post type is registered.

Open the following file /includes/custom-post-types/portfolio.php and where it says:

'supports' => array( 'title', 'editor', 'thumbnail', 'page-attributes', 'excerpt' )

Add comments.

'supports' => array( 'title', 'editor', 'thumbnail', 'page-attributes', 'excerpt', 'comments' )